Wrap it up!

7 10 2010

There are many things in this world that I really love, and one of these things is most certainly the wrap. When sandwiches or salads get boring, the wrap kind of swings in and saves the day. It is highly versatile, takes very little time or effort, and depending on what you decide to put in it, also very healthy! I previously posted about how Tupperware can save the day when avoiding repetitive and boring packed lunches—and today’s lunch is no different. Instead of the standard lunchmeat, cheese, and tomato sandwich that I tend to pack for the boy and myself (which are also good, but get old after a while), I decided to go with something a bit more fun… and healthy!

Buffalo Ranch Chicken Wrap

  • About 1.5 pounds boneless skinless chicken breast, diced into little pieces
  • A touch of olive oil (for cooking the chicken)
  • A generous amount of Frank’s Red Hot (the only hot sauce I would use for this recipe)
  • About a tablespoon or so of low-fat ranch dressing
  • One stalk of celery, sliced thin
  • Diced tomato
  • Spinach
  • A couple of wraps (I purchase mine from ALDI)

You start by browning those pieces of chicken in a bit of olive oil. If you want it to be a bit tastier, you can use butter… I like it this way, but it’s obviously healthier with the olive oil. You cook until they are done through, and then throw them in a bowl with the celery and mix with enough Frank’s Red Hot and Ranch dressing to coat. You can mess with the amounts to get it as spicy as you like it. Anything goes!

 

That mixture should be enough for about four wraps (this covers the two days I pack lunches for me and the boy). You can make it ahead and leave it in the fridge to use if you pack in the mornings. I find this easiest.

When you’re ready to assemble your wrap, put a few good spoonfuls of the mixture onto the wrap, sitting on a flat surface. Then add as much diced tomato and spinach as you would like.


Just give it a little love.

Veggie goodness.

Finally, wrap it up! I like to fold the right and left sides in, then kind of roll it so nothing falls out. It just takes a few times to practice, and you’ll be a pro. Last week I had toothpicks to hold the wrap together while it was in the bag waiting to be eaten. I forgot to buy more, however, so I broke a plastic knife in half and used that. I was a Girl Scout for ten years… we learned to be resourceful…

MacGyver ain't got nuthin on me.

Utilizing wraps is great, because you can put real cooked meat in there and not just lunchmeat. I mean, I don’t mind lunchmeat, but it’s certainly not as healthy… and has so much sodium! You can obviously load whatever other veggies you like as well, those are just the ones I thought would go best.

To top our lunch off, I added some part-skim string cheese, apples, and bags of shark crackers. We’ve been drinking water with our lunches—myself because I’m trying to drink more water and less sugar, and the boy because I forgot to buy lunchboxes this week. I was obviously a bit scatterbrained while grocery shopping this time around.

 

Wraps can also be great at any meal. A breakfast wrap could include scrambled eggs, veggies, diced ham, salsa, and sour cream. I’ve done Greek Chicken wraps, Thai Chicken wraps, and everything in between. Tomorrow we’re having Philly Cheesesteak wraps (not so healthy, but oh-so-delicious) for dinner.

The possibilities are endless! Cheers, everyone!

 


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

